by Bec on 16 October 2014 23:18

I am a recent graduate but am not actually qualified to do anything. I feel trapped in admin. I didn't enjoy my degree and found it has not been the slightest bit helpful, as it has not equipped me for the world of work. By contrast, the experience that I have experience in other areas (retail, mentoring, support work) does not hold me back.

Most jobs I see advertised for graduates with my degree are recruitment and/or sales based, which I am not suited for. Alternatively, there are also engineering posts advertised (which i am impressed with), but I am unfortunately not trained for any of them. I would really like to do a graduate scheme/job where i could be trained in technology or ergonomics but I have no idea where to look for graduate schemes/jobs that are for people with non-specified degrees. Can anyone point me in the right direction? I've been looking careers advice, but there isn't much out there for graduates to ask questions and my universities careers network was not at all helpful.

I greatly appreciate any help.

by Kirsty on 22 October 2014 13:41

Sorry this is no help to you but i am also in the same boat and just wanted to know if you have had any luck!

by Bec on 23 October 2014 21:31

No luck as of yet. I keep looking, but all I find is the same stuff. I'm really find it difficult to actually apply to vacancies, because of the reasons I described in my previous post. I really feel I need some guidance, but I have no idea where to look.

by Skyblue on 24 October 2014 18:37

Hi there,

I've recently graduated and have started the daunting and excruciating process that is applying to graduate schemes. What type of roles are you interested in pursuing? May I ask what your degree was in? The great thing about some graduates schemes are companies look for people from all different backgrounds that are willing to learn.

by Andy on 24 October 2014 20:33