by William James on 15 July 2014 15:11

Hi,

I finished a Masters degree in Business with Management in January 2013, officially graduating in July 2013, but have yet to gain graduate-level employment and was wondering if anyone has been in a similar situation and can advise on a few queries.

Prior to my Masters, I was working as an assistant administrator and having failed to gain relevant employment after my qualification, I was employed on a three-month temporary contract between April and June 2013 as a ‘contract services administrator’ and then subsequently as a ‘faculty support assistant administrator’ on another temporary contract through a recruitment agency.

I do intend on applying for numerous graduate programmes when they open for applications again in September 2014, but I was wondering how prospective employers would perceive the transition from a Masters degree to an administrator level and then to an assistant administrator level, which can be regarded as a step down?

At the moment I feel as though I can’t justify this transition and I am pigeon-holed in basic administration. I often find it difficult to apply for graduate roles whilst also working full time, which increases the length of time I am working within these roles and the difficulty of becoming employed in the procurement and supply chain management sector, which I aim to pursue as a career.

I am struggling to enter this field so was wondering if I still remain with a ‘graduate CV’ or opt for a ‘career change CV’ in future applications?

Do you think I will still be eligible to apply for a graduate scheme even though I completed my course in January 2013?

How do you think prospective employers would view my application for graduate programmes a year and half after my Masters course finished?

Many thanks in advance for your help.

by Ben Cookson on 17 July 2014 10:28

Hi William,