by ClaireB on 15 February 2012 15:39

I have a classics degree but many people seem to think it is a pointless degree to choose and am finding it difficult to find a job.

My degree is extremely academic and have developed a lot of skills that employers seek (such as research and analytical skills) and yet they seem to still be put off! Have any of you had the same experiences out there and how have you coped?

by JohnsonS on 15 February 2012 15:42

Hey! I study Philosophy and have been applying to many marketing/pr roles. I have tended to emphasise my relevant work experience I have gained and like you say, the skills that relate to it. I have found this works to an extent, just taking a while but I think persistence is the key!

by Chris Thorn on 15 February 2012 15:44

I guess if you knew what you wanted to specifically do before going to uni, then doing a specific degree makes sense but if you don't and enjoy the learning aspects then this shouldn't mean you are put at a disadvantage?

by BB on 03 March 2012 09:34

'Research' and 'analytical' skills are really important, but as a university lecturer I can tell you that they are university terms a lot of employers don't understand. Some people will just roll their eyes and assume you just want to 'think' for a living. One of my colleagues recently said in a meeting that 'thinking' is a vital employability skill - our industrial partner next to him just laughed and said 'doing is pretty good too'.

Universities don't do students any favours by thinking they 'own' language - we should be preparing students for life in the real world.

Get hold of the job spec and person profile and use the employer's language. I'm sure you'll find that if you break 'research' and 'analysis' down, they contain elements that will help you tick lots of the boxes that HR want ticked. (Sorry to be that cynical, but that's how employment works in most industries).

Good luck!

by Ryan on 21 August 2012 09:34