by James on 27 August 2013 17:17

I'm currently doing research into unpaid internships out there and was wondering about other people's experiences. What it worth it? Did you feel cheated? Did it lead to a job?

There has been a lot in the press recently about interns suing companies they worked for and I have my own horror story, just wanted to see if I wasn't alone!

by Colin Leatham on 28 August 2013 20:33

Hi,

It has nearly a year since i left university and my job at the Olympics. I have had very little help from the University and Job Centre since finishing. Recently a opportunity came to work at Liverpool Airport, but only as a volunteer. I am annoyed that i have a degree and yet forced to whore myself out as a volunteer (4 hours a week) to work at a multi-million pound company for free. I know people will be saying that you will be getting experience while in the process, i bet the people who say that have jobs. I do find it shocking that people with low or high degrees are being side lined, and with not to be on job seekers.

Did you sue your company? (Only if its not to intruding)

by Nas on 29 August 2013 17:45

I graduated back in 2010 and have since volunteered in a number of companies to gain experience and learn new skills. I also have been trying really hard to get a graduate level position.

One of the company I volunteered with didn't pay me my travel expenses, lunch expenses and instead asked me to buy things for them. They didn't listen to me, disrespected and treated me very bad. When I told them that I longer wish to volunteer with them, they accused me of verbal abuse.

another company I volunteered with also treated me bad. They also didn't pay me for my travel expenses and lunch. I spent so much money whilst working there. The manager was so bad that he asked me to buy things for him and pay his bills. when I refused he started treating me bad.