by Tony on 02 July 2013 17:36

I graduated this year and I've been umm-ing and err-ing over whether to do a masters or not.

I have friends who have done them and really enjoyed the experience but then they've struggled to get a job just as much as a normal grad but with lots more debt!

I also worry that the only reason some people do Masters is so they can delay the job search for another year.

I suppose what I want to know is whether anyone has a positive experience of doing a Masters and then landing a good graduate job because of it??

by daniel on 03 July 2013 10:00

its a waste of time

by Asif Rashid on 04 July 2013 13:53

A Masters will help you but its not necessary. It also depends on what subject the Masters is. If you can get experience in the field you want to work that is really valuable.

by Sam on 04 July 2013 15:50

Same predicament as me. But I am also not sure what course to take. I spoke to a lecturer and I have decided to try find a job in industry for a year before going back in a years time to get a Masters as I wish to do one for other reasons than career. By going into industry I will know what course to take and have been told I will benefit more from the course after some experience.

by Asif on 04 July 2013 18:22

if you want to play safe what you can do is apply for a teaching course in 2014 and give yourself a year to find a job you really want to do. IF you get a job then you can forget the course but if you don't you have a teaching qualification to fall back on. Teaching is the most stable and secure job in the UK. Plus after a few good years you can earn 40k+

Thats the strategy i am following anyway.

by Kechi on 08 July 2013 17:49

I did a masters in Health Psychology and it was definitely useful for my field. Without it I probably wouldn't have got the job I have now.