by Tania on 08 May 2013 22:01

Hi Eveyone,

I graduated with an MSc last October and have been struggling to find work in my home country since then(due to the horrible recession). I studied my undergraduate degree in the UK (2.1) and I have been trying my best in applying for jobs all over the UK. At the moment, I have applied to over 60 jobs and have had no reply. Is this due to the fact that I am not living in the UK? I understand for job interview purposes why a compnay may not want to proceed with the recruitment process, but friends of mine have had job interviews over the phone and on skype, so I personally don't see it as a barrier. What can I do on my behalf to make recruiters more willing to proceed with my application form? Any advice would be greatly appreciated.

by Claire on 09 May 2013 09:49

Hi Tania,

I am actually in a similar situation to you except that I actually studied in a non-UK university (in a non-EU university in actual fact), although I have been on exchange in an EU Country since January. I am going to graduate in May and have also been applying for jobs in the UK (despite not living in the UK).