by Ian on 03 March 2013 13:43

Hello everyone

I Graduated July 2012 with a Third in BSc Honours Project Management. I am looking for a career change as I currently work For M and S in operations. However looking on this website I noticed that most employer arte looking for a 2:1 or above for their schemes. This is disheartening to me as I feel I could do the job but don't want to apply as I dont meet the grade. Could any one advise me on which path I should take.

by Marks McUbe on 04 March 2013 16:48

Hi Ian
Dont be disheartened you are not the only one in such a situation, I graduated in 2010 with a second class in Construction and Project Management and I have been looking for a job since then. I dont know exactly what keeps me going but I have never looked back. I keep myself busy by doing short couses which I hope will help when I finaly get a job.

by James on 05 March 2013 14:56

Hey,

I got a 2:2 (graduated in 2009), and found the same thing but to be fair it is my fault for now finding this out before going into my final year. If I did look at schemes in my first and second years, I think I would of try harder to get that 2:1. Instead I was happy to get my 2:2, thinking I could get a job as I had a degree.

What I did is worked for a SME in a trainee management role rather than go for a larger graduate recruiter. I was lucky, as they trained me up and now after doing a bit of traveling am looking for another role (but have the work experience now).

I would say don't look at the large companies with graduate schemes, it will only upset you - you are not getting in! Look out for PM roles in SMEs, I found my first role here!

Good luck.

by massy on 07 March 2013 21:24

Hello all