by NickyD on 01 February 2012 13:39

Hello everyone, i've been reading a lot about graduates leaving the UK in order to get jobs in countries such as China. Can anyone tell me their experiences of doing this? I'm a typical recent graduate with a degree in Business & Management and keen to learn if the risk is worth taking!

by Michael on 09 June 2013 09:54

I'm also curious as to how this is done. What process/avenue can we use to apply for jobs abroad.

Am I wrong to say you have to be REALLY valuable and stand out, for the foreign employers to take you over their nationals?

by Fiona on 20 August 2013 09:23

I've been living in China for the last 7 years, I moved when I was 18. It started with 6 months as part of my gap year and I ended up staying. I studied Chinese for a few years and then did my degree at a Chinese university. RE work, internships, opportunities etc... the general scene here is hopeful to say the least.

My advice for anyone coming out. Learn the language. Get out here. You can live off a little for a while. Find a teaching job (legally and the right way; I wouldn't suggest any backdoor or dodgy behaviour here as, if caught, it could really damage any potential of staying abroad). Find an internship that will sponsor a visa. Granted, not many of them will pay, but the experience is invaluable. Come out, make friends, join expat communities to make friends and settle a bit and, for your own good, get stuck in with the Chinese community. Sure it might suck for a while, homesickness and culture shock is a very real and painful thing to go through, but it comes and sure enough it goes again. But everything you do around that is worth those few days/weeks of feeling glum.

There are networking meetings (a few of them are a bit rubbish, more about showing off or trying to find a special someone for the night), clubs, sports clubs, organisations, events... everything goes on here.