by Will on 27 January 2012 14:29

Hi All,

I'm just after a bit of advice on how to pursue a career in the finance and accounting industry. I graduated 2 and a half years ago with a degree related to finance and i have a years work experience working as a management accounts assistant. Following research, i have come across courses for AAT or ACCA qualifications. Basically, I want to get started with one of these but I would like to hear from other people who have taken/know about these courses, and any advice on which one i should really consider would be greatly appreciated!

Thanks, Will

by Daz on 27 January 2012 16:52

Hi Will, I am sort of in a similar situation as you but have actually been looking to work and get qualified with the ACA. There's a few trainee chartered account role's on the site which includes studying towards the ACA etc which is ideal. Just a head's up!

by daniel on 12 February 2012 23:02

Will,

Accountancy is divided into two main types. You can do management accounting or chartered accounting. You mentioned already doing management accounting? Is the distinction clear to you and do you know which one you want to do? This will affect the body you go with. The ones you mentioned are just chartered accounting bodies.

To get the qualification, you need to have a relevant job. Some positions will put you through a course - if so, it may be irrelevant which body you want to get registered with. So, you best try and secure a job which is advertising for trainee accountants. They'll usually be specially designed to help you pass your exams and give you the relevant experience.

So essentially, you need to decided if you want to do management or chartered accounting. And then find a job. Which will lead onto getting a professional qualification.

by Francis Botelho on 17 March 2012 16:22

hi all ,