by Aidan on 15 November 2011 17:19

I graduated this year and have applied to many graduate schemes but instead of staying at home waiting to land a graduate job, I work part time. Some people seem to think that I am making 16-17 year olds disadvantaged by doing this but I would rather be earning some money whilst applying to graduate jobs than being skint, bored and waiting for a job to come to me!

Am i alone in this?

by Flick on 15 November 2011 17:43

I would be getting part time work if I could find any. Also, in the long run, I think I'm not going to end up in a graduate scheme/graduate role. I want to go into HR and I think I'd honestly prefer working up from the bottom.

by Annie on 16 November 2011 09:39

I'm not sure if any of you read the Metro, but in the Metro talk section there is a big discussion on this - I think its awful to assume that graduates want to go for any job out there and want to 'take' 15-16 year old jobs from them. I mean what else can we do!? I'm finding it hard to find any part time work at the moment so I am just volunteering but the loan needs to be paid back at some point!

by Maya on 16 November 2011 17:21

Just like those experienced professional who got redundant go and take the jobs meant for us (graduates), we are forced to go and take the jobs of more junior workers.
Let the government try and force companies not to give out graduate positions to those with experience, then we will not deprive teens from their part-time jobs!!!!

I have been looking for a job after getting my masters for almost half a year. I do some volunteering while applying. But saved money does not last forever. I have started looking for some PT job just to survive.

by Mutia on 18 November 2011 15:24