by Mr Happy on 12 September 2012 10:19

Hi,

Graduated this year.

Need tips on how to get round the UCAS points for online applications.
I'm a mature student left college at 17 after doing my B-TEC then worked so no UCAS.

I got a 1st, this is not a boast just to show I have no A-levels but I must have a brain sort of.

I been told I have a good skill set and CV just this criteria is stopping me hitting graduate schemes. So currently I'm forced to apply for Junior role so competing against experienced candidates. The suitable for graduate roles in the field I'm looking at, always ask for 1-3 years commercial experience. I still apply for them.

by matthew on 14 September 2012 15:03

There is no way around it, some graduate schemes us an auto rejection software and what that does is that if you don’t meet the entry criteria the system will auto reject you, i have had experience of these. Graduate schemes also look at your GCSE’s for the entry criteria, there is some I know who has O-levels, and when they speak to the graduate scheme HR people they say “not GCSE’s or A-levels you’re not going to get in” UCAS points and GCSE’s are just used as a way to filter the amount of applications that a company has to look at, it is nothing personal just too many graduates coming out of universities and employers can pick the cream of the crop.

by Mr Happy on 15 September 2012 11:37

Thanks Matthew.

Just was looking for away past the automaton in HR.

I'll just have to see it as their loss, not mine. Must admit I find it annoying as it totally cuts out an opportunity, worked hard, got a 1st but as I did no A-levels I have no value. Have commercial experience of:
Presenting & Report writing
Working on Projects
Business analysis
KPI/OPI/BI Reporting

The reason I had to go to university was that HR in companies find it hard to understand transferable skills into a new sector. A lot of replies I was getting was you have great experience but you haven't worked in this sector..