by Eddy on 31 October 2011 16:01

So, i did a computer science degree and currently looking into doing an it graduate scheme. but i am not sure whether i should go more into technological scheme or just simply it, does anyone know whats available with these schemes?

by Ronald on 04 November 2011 16:41

@Eddy - what you get in your degree? Lots of companies want a 2:1 or 1st.

I have applied for the Jag IT role on the site, really hope I get the job, as I want to stay more technological because that is where my skills are!

In my opinion stay in IT and build on your skills!

by A.Singh on 11 November 2011 12:18

Hi all, for me I don’t highly rate graduate schemes, after graduating in 2010 with a 2:1 in Computer Science I have applied to many graduate schemes to do with IT and Technology but have had no luck. I have had my CV looked at professionally and they rated in 9 out 10, I went along to career events and speaking to HR representatives from certain companies, saying that I seem like the type of person that would fit in to their company and even got coaching through online tests because I thought I was failing them (because companies do not give any feedback). From all of that I still have only had 1 interview for a graduate scheme. I think it may be down to luck if you get on the scheme or who you know rather than what you know. If you think it may be down to experience I did a year’s placement within IT and in the past year have had 4 different IT contracts (on and off over the year). I would suggest that by all means keep applying to graduate schemes but also look for junior or graduate jobs that have potential career progression and where they provide training.

Sorry if I seem to be a downer on the situation and good luck in your applications but I thought you would like to hear my prospective as a recent graduate.

by Navid on 30 November 2011 09:36