by Hermos on 10 July 2012 18:13

I have finally graduated with a degree in maths. I loved my degree, and I loved working towards exams - something that a lot of people won't relate to! As a student, I focused on my degree but I knew that work experience was crucial - I tried internships and graduate scheme applications, but I often felt inadequate and thought, 'why bother?' a lot. So I don't have much work experience but I want to change that now.

Now that I've started applications I know that I'm a credible candidate, but I'm at a loss. I've applied to at least 10-15 jobs last Thurs/Fri alone, and I've been rejected from 2. The rest haven't even replied. A few grad schemes that I was really interested in still haven't gotten back to me and it's been 2 weeks.

I don't know what to do. It feels like people are saying, 'yeah, drop us an application!' and then just refuse to acknowledge it. Perhaps because they found someone with more relevant experience, or because their intake has closed but their website hasn't been updated. In any case, I don't know what to do.

Can someone please advise me on how I should go about these next few months? Do I just apply to everything that strikes my fancy and hope for the best? Do I wait patiently for 6 months for any desk job, after which I take any job I can?

by Graeme on 11 July 2012 06:27

Hi,