by Stuart on 06 July 2012 12:32

Hi,

I recently graduated with a 2:1 in Psychology from a good university. As a mature graduate (age 31 yrs) I am finding it difficult to know how to sell myself and whether I should be applying for graduate schemes/jobs at all.

On the plus side I have previous work experience as an assistant manager for a high street chain and a leisure resort. To some of you this may sound great in that I have tangible work experience unlike younger applicants but I feel this experience has little relevance to the new careers I am aspiring to.

My main concern is I have no idea how recruitment agents and employers perceive older applicants. Perhaps they feel we might have a "been there done that attitude" and have unrealistic salary expectations. I for one I'm willing to start at the bottom like everyone else if it means the start of an exciting new career.

Any thoughts guys?

by Jen on 07 July 2012 07:20

Hi,

As a mature graduate I am finding quite a few obstacles being put in my way by potential employers. I have been told in not so many words that at 35 I'm to old !! Maybe they perceive that I haven't the energy of a sprightly 21 year old, well they are very much mistaken. We have experience on our side and I think you should be selling your strongest attributes, mature students have so much to offer in life experience which I think is invaluable. I have decided to start my own business as I feel my strengths can make it a success. Good luck with the job hunting ??.

by John on 07 July 2012 07:59

I'm 31 years old and a recent graduate from a top ten uni. I had the same fears, but was consoled that the UK system doesn't allow employers to ask the age of their candidates. Unfortunately it doesn't stop them, and I have found that it seems to be the employers first consideration.