by RobC on 07 March 2012 09:11

I have read that the number of graduates going into low paid jobs has significantly increased, with 1 in 5 grads still out of work!! - I'm in this position as a recent graduate myself working in a supermarket and struggling to find a relevant graduate position and find this whole thing very frustrating! I'm not sure what I am doing wrong? Are any of you in the same boat?

by Sophie on 07 March 2012 15:13

Hi Rob,

Yes, for the last few years the number of 'graduate roles' has decreased, as such more and more people find themselves in your position. I found myself in the same position after graduating over 2 years ago, with a 2:1 Law degree in a minimum wage role. I think that the issue is a lot of students are under a misconception that there will be a pot of gold at the end of their degree but this just isn't the case any longer. Due to the current economic climate employers favour those with work experience; there are just too many graduates in the labour market so firms can pick the best whilst even those with above mediocre qualifications are left feeling despondent.

Unfortunately there is no quick fix for your problem, keep applying for positions, get some office experience and ride it out for a few years. I can only speak from my experience but this is what I have had to do. Although I am not practising Law, I am now working in a legal related job after getting experience in various roles; have you considered throwing your net a bit wider, considering other industries?

You will get there in the end Rob, it is just going to be more testing than you initially imagined. Good luck.

by Paul on 13 March 2012 17:48

I didn't realise there were 1 in 5 graduates out of work, but can relate to both of your experiences.